She gave the currency notes, “Release him” she said pitiably. He was charge sheeted for statutory rape of fourteen years old. The girl looked that age. “You should approach a lawyer, what is he to you?” She did meet my eyes. “He is my husband, father of my children. I want to save my family” She was the fourteen years old! “You look so young, how can they be yours?” ….pause “I married him, because I wanted to mother his motherless children. They are mine. I will not orphan them again” She was defiant “You can’t arrest me?”

One thought on “INNOCENCE

Leave a Reply

