STARE

“If stars burnt with revenge , they would not shine – Margaret Atwood”

We were friends , though I was beginning to sense a furtive glance , a soft word in the middle of some heated argument. He preferred me to be passive off late, he had begun to observe me as though I was a desirable object. I said “Friendship often becomes love . But love seldom reverses in to friendship. It becomes indifference or guilt or embarrassment in the one who could not love and wish for revenge or a competition to find someone better (at least appearances) in the jilted” He was not surprised by this oblique remark.”So what should I become indifferent or guilty or embarrassed?”
I was piqued. “I hate you, so are spared a dilemma” He laughed heartily.
“Thank you”….and he stared.

2 thoughts on “STARE

Leave a Reply

