ATTENTION GIVING DISORDER

NO ONE CARES HOW MUCH YOU KNOW TILL THEY KNOW HOW MUCH YOU CARE

I may not have left red blotchy
letters on the bathroom floors
I may not have left pink
lipstick kisses on papers or cards
I simply never felt that at any age
I was fighting unwanted attention
all my life
Broken glass pieces on my fence
and I was accused of seeking attention
When I was giving it
The only aspect of my cognition
that saved your life
Saviors die several times
for taking the responsibility
of someone else’s survival
unable to armor another
with a purpose to live

3 thoughts on “ATTENTION GIVING DISORDER

  1. An intense write. This poem has a sense of unstinted support in an atmosphere of neglect and carelessness.
    ‘Broken pieces of glass’ is a reminder of how one has shattered and yet tries to protect the fence between two individuals
    Another wonderful poetry from you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

