I can only be a tail This ocean is so lonely
Lighthouses don’t speak
I can’t even walk away
I have only a small cute tail
I can’t walk up to you
Nor entwine your legs
I can’t drown, it is a gift of this
tail fin
Listen, I learnt to cry, all by myself
They say it attracts humans……. twaters
I sink every night,
I can’t drown, I think it is called sleep
My hands reach out again
But they hold oysters, corals
All salty creatures of the sea
Where are your hands ?
Did I dream that too ?
I rescued some dreams, a flag of
one homeless explorer.
This ocean is so lonely
Lighthouses don’t speak
I can’t even walk away
I have only a small cute tail
I can’t walk up to you
Nor entwine your legs
I can’t drown, it is a gift of this
tail fin
Listen, I learnt to cry, all by myself
They say it attracts humans……….

 

10 thoughts on “MERMAID’S CRY

    • Thank you for visiting and the comment , mermaid knows the depths , where legs cant go….. a gift , true….. curse is not being able to get close to a man….. Only the human half is seen by other humans , never on the ground always submerged…
      Loved your comment.
      Made me rethink the poem….

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

