TEST OF TIME

Take me back to that time

When “Solitary Reaper” could

make me cry………….( I am still there)

 

Take me back to that time

when fear of intimate scenes made me

fast forward the film

We tried not to look at each other

for hours after…..(I am still there)

 

Take me back to that time

When I was excited that

you liked the same things as me

as though I was discovering

a twin who did not share my genes

 

Take me back to that time

when I wore too many clothes

since I was meeting you

and wanted to deny that I had a body

( I am still doing that)

Yet would be miserable if

you did not notice the

Nail polish

 

Take me back to the time

when I believed this was all

present tense and would not

be “Once Upon a time” at all…

 

Take me back to the time

When my cheeks, your lips

My hands, your shirt

a ceiling fan on the roof

was causing missed heart beats

 

Now, I think time has passed

I am searching for a completion

I am searching for time

That always tested me and left

As I did not give in

I passed the hardest of times

doing nothing …..saying everything

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “TEST OF TIME

  1. brilliant piece about the return to innocence. there comes a time in your life you wish you met someone first – but when you meet someone and he/she truly cares, your new memories will render these wishes needless.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ‘Take me back to the time

    When my cheeks, your lips

    My hands, your shirt

    a ceiling fan on the roof

    was causing missed heart beats’ —– Lovely, particularly ‘ a ceiling fan on the roof’ ! That carries a lot.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

