He got her a drink, a glass of red wine, “ I hope you wont refuse this” All around people were getting drunk and losing their heads, one drink may not cause that. She might not feel so horrible if he kissed her again, in some corner of her mind she was hoping he would kiss her again, it did make her feel like a desirable woman, though a bit weak and shameless. She took it and drank, it had the same burning effect, as she last remembered, it tasted sour, cold. With in minutes she felt so high, like floating, she could not stand, as though the ground was giving away. It was pleasant and scary. She held Rake’s arm, “ I am not able to stand, what kind of drink was that? I feel like I am ripping on a bike”

“Come, I’’ll show you my room” she stumbled to his room whose door opened to the hall. The moment the door closed behind them she was unsure, the room was dark, and through the lacy curtains some revolving beams of light entered the room. The room had a stench of cigarette buds, and of still imprisoned air, he probably did not open the windows often enough to let in the fresh air and day light. She almost fell down; he raised her to her feet, made her sit on the bed. He started to kiss her again, now they were different aggressively insistent, she did not like them at all. He did not care for her response any more; he was on his own trip. She had thought he was of a small build she could push him off her if she wanted to , but when she tried , he was stronger. He bent on her , she lost her grip on the bed sheets and lay sprawled on the bed. She pounded his chest with her fists, he was very quick and deft, his hands and legs , ten fingers, ten toes, two knees moved all over her, all of her body felt limp, soft, powerless.

‘ Fight me baby I like that’ he kissed her harder, she should not have taken that drink , she was anxious but not alert, it was as if she was fighting some one in a dream . He started to undo the front buttons, her heart pounded so loudly , even he could have heard it, she was  frightened  ‘Back off , I really don’t want to do this” now she was pleading, begging almost, but he would not stop.

She felt like a ten years old child, ‘ I want to go to toilet’ . To her shocked confusion he said the same words ‘ I touch you because I love you, and if you love me , you should let me’.Then she had loved her brother, it was her duty. Here she did not love him, he was a nobody. It was as though it was happening to some one else, she was sleepy, her legs felt limp like lead, she really felt frozen, water could only come up to her knees it could not drown her, she felt breathless inside water, she wriggled on the bed, he was not heavy she was. He could have been pushed off , but she was not strong enough, her muscles did not contract , this was not shooting, she should not be passive, some voice screamed in side, no sound came out.She instinctively folded back her legs, one shoe fell off, along with one garment, which he had half pulled down.

The sharp pain woke her , he was surprised. The dress was still on her,  the slip was pushed up , underwear had come down, there were fresh blood stains on the bed sheet with snake and ladder print , on the square numbered fifty two, a snake head covered by her blood. She tried to get up; blood trickled on to her thigh a drop stained her black shoe, which was gripping her feet tightly.

“ I did not think you were, all that you said ,  I am sorry, I got carried away”

“ Spare me the appologies, you are not at all sorry, you wanted to feel powerful so you paralysed me, I was a fool, looking at your outer size I  underestimated some thing else, ouch” She could not stand her head hurt, she felt like throwing up, he picked up her underwear for her. She said “thanks’ with out looking at him and slipped it on. She looked at her watch all this had happened in six minutes, the act perhaps for about four minutes, four damn minutes had changed her life, she could have made three packets of Maggi in this time, she thought horrible events took more time, no she could lose a race in a few seconds, some one could lose a gold medal in one mark.

She was telling him thanks what was wrong with her , then she slapped him, with as much strength as she could muster, he fell on the ground he had not expected that.

“ I am sorry, Madhu, I really am, You cant go to the police you know, You are in my house, you had drinks all this will go against you”

“ I had one drink that is all. I was seduced, this is not rape, I did not resist enough, but I had read about sex, I did not know it could happen so fast, I did not know you had such intentions, because it was the first time,it is painful may be that is why it feels like a rape” Madhu was thinking aloud, trying to understand, and shirk off that awful  feeling it had not happened to her. But the act was complete, or else she could not have bled. So she really had sex, this is what it was the so called sex.

11 thoughts on “DATE RAPE

    • I tried some reputed publishers who sort of criticized my work and said it can be made in to short stories , It carried a single theme …So I refused to go according to their ideas and almost forgot I wrote this , now I am hoping to get a publisher who will not change my manuscript. Till then , will keep posting…..:-)

      Thank you for reading and commenting. And support , as writing is a lonely job with out sensitive readership and perhaps has no meaning if there is no readership….:-)

      Liked by 2 people

  1. the visual is very emotive. powerful narrative. i understand why a naive girl wouldn’t consider this rape. this is credit to a writer who understands the workings of a naive mind. but this touches me raw – as man and a person.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

